Are You Under 30 (Heck, Over)?! Read This!!!

           

Footprints in the sand...

          Right now, I’m reading the book of Luke in the Bible.  I’m really enjoying reading all the miracles that Jesus performed and how he lived his life.  It was one filled of righteousness, positivity and faith-obviously so, is this not God’s son we’re talking about?  You would think after reading so much of his life, with all of the emphasis focused on the miracles he performed, that I would chose to focus on this as well, but the biggest thing I am taking away from this book is the fact that Jesus waited until the ripe age of 30 to begin his ministry!

            For myself, it’s been INCREDIBLY uplifting to read the Word and be reminded that Jesus himself did not come into his purpose until the age of 30!  Jesus spent years working alongside his stepfather learning how to be a carpenter-it wasn’t a high-paying/high-profile industry like the military or tax collection. Sometimes we get SO frustrated with where we are that we dig ourselves a ditch of self-pity and lie in it.  We fail to recognize that we are not alone and are not the only ones to feel this way. 

          Within my peer group (early-mid 20s) I am continuously encountering a spirit of helplessness, frustration and overall disenfranchisement with our current stations of life.  It seems as though no one is as successful as they would like to be, making as much money as they believe they’re worth, and doing what it is they’d like to be doing.  There’s only a few I know of that are actually enjoying their current lives-making the money they want to be making at a job they enjoy while being properly acknowledged and recognized for their efforts.

          How premature of myself to run around with the mentality that my life must be figured out and planned prior to my 24-yrs of age.  Was it not yesterday that I quit breastfeeding?  Even if I’m 30 and am still finding my way, I’ve got to quit discrediting the seemingly menial industries I’m in and the skills I am acquiring-I am building character and experience, both of which are invaluable.  Besides, everyone has to pay their dues someway, somehow.  Even Jesus 🙂

5 thoughts on “Are You Under 30 (Heck, Over)?! Read This!!!

  1. I keep having to remind myself that the experience I’m gaining and the knowledge I’m acquiring will pay off in a few years. It’s hard to remain optimistic sometimes but its important to recognize we are still young and its a bigger picture.

  2. “How premature of myself to run around with the mentality that my life must be figured out and planned prior to my 24-yrs of age. Was it not yesterday that I quit breastfeeding? ”

    REALLY?!?!?!?!?! HAHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAH… Ashley, you have done it again! BRAVO! BRAVO!

    No, but seriously (my infant cousin), your words make a lot of sense and please believe this is something that I have struggled with and your post was beautifully written.

  3. THIS WAS GREAT LIL CUZ. THIS IS SOMETHING THAT WE ALL STRUGGLE WITH FROM TIME TO TIME. WE BEAT OURSELVES UP (including me!) FOR NO REASON AT ALL. WE TEND BE HARDER ON OURSELVES THAN WE ACTUALLY NEED TO BE. I CAN COMPLETELY UNDERSTAND THIS POST MORE THAN YOU COULD EVER KNOW. I THINK IN OUR FAMILY THE MAIN ISSUE IS THAT WE COME FROM A LONG LIST OF ACHIEVERS AND GO-GETTERS, SO WE FEEL LIKE WE HAVE TO STEP UP TO THE PLATE THE EXACT SAME WAY IF NOT BETTER! WHAT WE DONT KNOW IS HOW LONG IT MAY HAVE TAKEN OUR AUNTS/UNCLES, DADS/MOMS AND GRANDPARENTS TO GET TO THEIR OWN POINTS OF PERSONAL SATISFACTION WITH THEIR LIVES AND THEIR PURPOSE(S). AS I GET OLDER, THE MORE I START TO REALIZE THAT THERE IS NO TIME LIMIT AS LONG AS YOU ARE MOVING TOWARD SOMETHING DIFFERENT AND BETTER EVERYDAY, THATS ALL THAT REALLY MATTERS 🙂

Leave a Reply

