Do You REALLY Know How To Whip Your Hair Willow?

Don’t let haters keep me off my grind/Keep my head up I know I’ll be fine/Keep fighting until I get there/When I’m down and I feel like giving up I think again/I whip my hair back and forth/I whip my hair back and forth (just whip it)/I whip my hair back and forth/I whip my hair back and forth (whip it real good)

          Does that NOT sound like a catchy tune/phrase from the hottest new Disney sensation? I think so but apparently the rest of the world does not because Willow Smith is getting her shine on via Roc Nation.

          While the song is VERY catchy and the video is even cuter, I can’t get past the fact that young Willow is 9 years old. NINE YEARS OLD! At the age of 9, what little I knew about life was changing daily. My biggest concern was chosing the right ending of the latest Choose Your Own Adventure book. Surely I knew nothing of haters, much less a grind.

          When I think of other young superstars who have made it BIG, of course Miley Cyrus of Hannah Montana fame and Keke Palmer of several Disney soundtracks fame come to mind. Those young ladies worked the circuit and were able to gain a loyal, strong audience among many in their peer group before branching out and building their insanely lucrative empires. I wish Willow could have done the same. A career on Disney would have meant so much more than a hit song-it could have led to a tv show or two, several albums, merchandising deals, etc. You must crawl before you walk and simply put, I don’t see a lot of flexibility for a 9-yr old who’s single is being heavily rotated in the young adult market.

3 thoughts on “Do You REALLY Know How To Whip Your Hair Willow?

  1. So true! What a great point:

    “You must crawl before you walk and simply put, I don’t see a lot of flexibility for a 9-yr old who’s single is being heavily rotated in the young adult market.”

    I wonder about this situation a whole lot!

  2. Yeah! She didn’t crawl at all! LOL! Haters? Girl boom! What? Somebody is mad because your lunch box is better than theirs? SMH! People, meet the new generation. LOL! At nine, i was freaking out because I was going to be an uncle. At nine, I was worried about remembering the lyrics to the choir song, at school! At nine, I was worried about not getting whooped for talking back to my school teachers. At nine, I was crying because my dad didn’t let me take my bike out for the day. NOT THINKING ABOUT HATERS! OR some chick whipping her hair back in forth! LOL! Now she is in the light! 20 years from now, like other artist, she will wish that she lived a normal life as a child. WATCH!

Leave a Reply

