Do What You Say You’re Going To Do

If you would just do what you say you're going to do...imagine the possibilities!

            A few weeks back I was talking to Shelby (who else, I know I know smh) and we were rambling on about randomness and the topic of success/Mike came up (yes the two are interchangeable lol!).  Shelby was saying that Mike believes the key to success is just “Do whatever you say it is you’re going to do.”

            Its simplicity dumbfounded me for a second.  “Just do what I say I’m going to do?  That will mean success?”  *blank stare*

Big couso on his Diddy-swag 🙂 Because Mike does what he says he's gonna do, he's successful!

            Because Shelby is secretly my twin, she read my mind and said, “I know Ashley.  Sounds crazy, right?  But Mike’s thing is if he says it, he’s gonna do it.  If he said he’s gonna go to some event, he makes sure he shows up.  If Mike knows he needs to study for an exam to get the grade he wants, he’s going to put in that time to study.  If Mike told me that day he is going to take out the trash, he will take out the trash.  And honestly, he might have been up until 2 AM studying and be dead dog tired, but before he goes to bed, that trash will be taken out.”

            Hmm… “Do what you say you’re going to do,” made more sense to me.  I began to understand what that could mean for anyone’s life, especially my own.  When I think of success, it includes things such as keeping my home clean, making sure I post something to my blog everyday and a bevy of other random tasks.  A lot of times those random tasks aren’t so difficult, they can just be time-consuming, annoying and overall not fun.  But how much more productive and successful would I be/feel if I put all the procrastination and bullcrap to the side and just do it?

            This past Friday and Saturday I put Mike’s theory to the test.  It started in the office.  Every day I awake roughly around 7:45am, no alarm clock necessary.  It should be NO problem to be in the office (which is literally a 5-7 min drive from my house) by 9am everyday yet it is.  So this past Friday I was in the office by 9am (9:05 but don’t be a hater/petty).  My morning was already off to a bright start.  I immediately began to complete a few payrolls for clients that were due by noon.  In addition to this I managed to write a great blog post, take care of some light housekeeping duties in my work load and tidy my working area before I headed to Oxford, OH for my SPECial’s college graduation, assuring the office I’d be returning as soon as it was over. 

            For a slight second I considered not attending, despite the fact that I’d already RSVP’d to go-I still had quite a few things to do at work but remembered Mike’s quote, “Do what you say you’re going to do.”  So shortly after 2pm off to Oxford I went.  By 5:30pm I was headed back to the office and it was 6:45pm by the time I pulled up.  At this point I questioned, “What’s the point of going back into work when the office closes at 7pm?”  Again, I repeated Mike’s quote to myself, “Do what you say you’re going to do.” With 15min to spare I realized now would be the perfect time to do what I’d been procrastinating on completing during all of 2010-organizing the company’s bank account statements.  While it sounds so simple, by having 8 different bank accounts with 4 different banks, it’s actually a bit much.  I was able to get it all organized and into a binder within 25min.  Wow!  I slept soundly Friday night.  My day had been nothing SHORT of successful, all because I’d done the things that I’d said I would do.

            Saturday morning I awoke with dread.  While I always work Saturday morning lunches at J. Alexander’s, I’d agreed to work Saturday night dinner for a friend so that she could see her family who lived in another state.  Working a double shift on a Saturday night is nothing short of EXHAUSTING!  In addition to this, my older cousin had earned her MBA and was celebrating that night at a club in Columbus, OH which was 1 ½ hrs from where I was working.  I had no idea how I was going to pull all of this off but I knew I had to.  Why?  Because I had to “do what I say I am going to do.”  And somehow I did it all and had a great time!  I managed to complete my closing duties in half the time it would normally take, and managed to get up to Columbus, OH in enough time to have an AMAZING time at Simon’e’s celebration!  And the icing on the cake?  After a mere four hours of sleep (after a long, hard day of a double-shift at the restaurant and a night of drinking) I managed to get up, drive back home and make it to church to hear the Word. 

            So long story short, by focusing on doing what I said I was going to do, I managed to enjoy an extremely productive, fun and prosperous weekend.  I implore all of you to take Mike’s advice.  By simply just doing whatever it is you say you’re going to do, no matter how big or small, you change the direction your afternoon, day, week, month, years and ultimately life, will take.  The new direction will be cloaked under a success and inspiration-filled umbrella where your biggest dreams and goals will have the ability to come to fruition.

2 thoughts on “Do What You Say You’re Going To Do

  1. Awesome!
    I totally agree with Mike. Over time, now when ever I write a to-do list for a day, I find myself doing it no matter what.

    It’s about being consistent and true to your word not only for the benefit and assurance of others but for yourself.

    And another thing that makes me keep my word is one of my motto’s, ” I’ll thank myself later.” No matter what the task is, just by simply muttering those words, I get a boost to keep on course with what I said I was doing that day.

  2. Lil Ash,

    I am forever greatful for this post. It truly meant so very much. Trust and believe…this world can’t handle Young A. Yancey when you put your mind too it! Its funny man…we have to talk about where this whole “do what u say your going to do” came from.

    Much respect and forever love,
    Mike Steel

Leave a Reply

