2010 Is Over!

            Wow, what a year folks!  I can say that overall, 2010 has been the best year that I have lived.  Professionally, 2010 was a year of amazing highs!  I grew in ways I wouldn’t have imagined and found my purpose-what makes me truly happy.  I began the year slaving away at Victoria’s Secret Direct (VSD), fixing orders for disgruntled customers who’s main purpose in life was getting that $2.99 panty in a color that was no longer sold.  Yeah, I hated my life lol.  Despite my severe unhappiness there however, I became part of a “survey” team.  My role was to accept Victoria’s Secret bras and panties (for free you guys), test them out, then complete surveys on them.  Based on the feedback, VS would make necessary adjustments, mass-produce them, then sell them.  Also while working there I had an INCREDIBLE employee discount-$5 bras, $2 panties…the list goes on.  Long story short, I now have QUITE a collection lol.

            After finally quitting VSD in March, I headed over to the family business and dived headfirst into the complicated world of payroll and bookkeeping.  I was in over my head, got frustrated, but I held on, figured things out and managed to stay afloat.  After settling into my routine I decided it was time to pursue my license in bail bonds and by September I had passed the state test to become a surety bail bonds agent.  I was SO excited! 

            A couple weeks later I decided to get a second job (I needed a break from the office) so I headed over to J. Alexander’s.  There I recognized I wasn’t happy so I am now happy to report that yesterday I worked my last shift there.  Thank God!  Also during this time I realized it was time to really pursue my writing thing and I began my blog.  My outlook on this blog is evolving quickly.  Whereas I originally began it focused on writing every single day on topics that would attract readers, I now don’t care about that as much.  I write what I feel, when I feel it.  If the readers love it, FABULOUS!  If not, life will go on-you win some and you lose some.

            On the other hand, in my personal life, 2010 left a bit to be desired.  God knows this though because he hasn’t seen it fit to take me out yet lol-there’s obviously supposed to be more to my life.  Familial disagreements and losing some of my closest friends (one or two were actually my best friends) due to whatever reasons are never things that bring a smile to my face yet they are all things that I’ve struggled to deal with at some point this year, some more than others.  With that being said however, I’ve also formed some even closer bonds and relationships with some where this didn’t exist previously and for this I am incredibly grateful.  Long story short, I have SO much to be thankful for, I’ve been blessed beyond measure and honestly, I don’t have a right to complain about too much.

            With that being said, this evening I shall begin my exodus to the city that never sleeps.  I will be ringing in my New Year as I’ve never done before.  To say that I’m excited would be quite the understatement.  I hate to get dramatic on you all (or wait, no I don’t…being dramatic is the Yancey way haha) but I feel like it will be some sort of self-fulfilling prophecy.  I’ve dreamed of NYC since kindergarten and to know that I will be there when the clock strikes 12 is so incredibly fulfilling to me! 

             Right now the loose plan (and my favorite plan) is to attend a little penthouse gathering that overlooks Times Square…yeah, I’m geeked lol.  You all have seen the dress and shoes (I have a vintage clutch that matches the shoes remarkably well) yet I am still clueless on how I should style my hair.  My girl will help me with that though. 

What are your New Year’s Eve plans?   Was 2010 good to you?  Anything you wish you could change?  Wish you would have done?  Major accomplishments?  Share!

Leave a Reply

