“This Little Piggy…”

You all know Geico’s recent commercial that features a pig squeeling?  The pig literally “wee’s” all the way home.  Shelby and I got into it over that commercial because she finds the pig to be absolutely disgusting.  I on the other hand think the pig is cute and entertaining.  Below is the commercial:

Call me slow but it wasn’t until the other day when I was watching it when I realized the commercial actually references the ancient children’s lullaby. 

“This little piggy went to market,

This little piggy stayed home;

This little piggy had roast beef,

And this little piggy had none;

And this little piggy cried, ‘Wee, wee, wee!’

All the way home!”

My mother would recite that to me ALL THE TIME when I was a toddler.  Watching that commercial jarred my memory.  First she would sniff my feet and frown her nose up before exclaiming, “Peee you!”  I would laugh and laugh and laugh!  Next she would grab ahold of each of my toes as she sang that lullaby, starting with my big toe and ending with my pinkie toe.  I would giggle for days.  That poem would entertain the crap out of me!  I shake my head now that I’m older wondering why did I get such a major kick out of that?

Another poem she used embarrassed me initially.  I thought my mother was calling me a sloppy eater/no manners so I took offense.  After I asked a million questions about what each word meant and what the lines were referencing, I loved it and would purposely put my elbows on the table just to hear her sing this lullaby:

“Ashley, Ashley strong and able,

Keep those elbow off the table;

This is not a horses stable.”

*Upon doing research I learned the final line of this poem is “But a first-class dining table!”  I felt the need to research it because I found it odd that this is a poem with only 3 lines in the stanza-I know that typically a stanza will have four lines lol

Are there any childhood poems or lullabies that were read and/or sang to you that got you absolutely tickled?  Share!

Leave a Reply

