It Started Way Back, In 1913…

Today is such an important day.  It is the 98th birthday celebration of the greatest sorority that God has ever created, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.  Back on Monday, January 13, 1913 22 courageous women set out to change the way that Black women affect the world.  They started by participating in the Women’s Suffrage March of 1913 and since then have been affecting change worldwide.  With a current membership exceeding 350,000 predominantly Black women worldwide it’s obvious that this organization will be here for lifetimes to come! 

I began my journey searching for the Delta light my sophomore year of college in 2005.  It is at that time I expressed interest to the Zeta Mu chapter, the collegiate chapter at Miami University, Oxford.  By the following April, after enduring many trying tests and tribulations covering everything as it pertains to the organization and it’s sisterhood, I achieved my goal of earning my membership.  It was easily one of the happiest days of my life!  I crossed over with three other women, Latorria Griffith, Ashley Cleveland and Erika Reedus.  On Saturday, April 15, 2006 Renegade IV emerged as the newest initiates into the Zeta Mu chapter with myself, the #1 Para “Dime” leading the way!!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

One thought on “It Started Way Back, In 1913…

Leave a Reply

