The Truth Hurts

The billboard reads, "The Most Dangerous Place For An African American Is In The Womb"

In lower Manhattan, at Watts Avenue and Sixth Avenue, AKA SoHo, this 3-story ad was displayed as a means of anti-abortion propaganda by Life Always, an anti-abortion group who was willing to pay the $20,000 price tag to have the ad displayed for a month.  After receiving intense public outcry, the ad was removed yesterday, February 24, 2011.

As a Black woman, this ad is painful for me to see.  While abortion has never impacted my life directly, I do understand that I had a niece/nephew I never got the opportunity to meet because of a common obstacle, best identified as abortion.  The thought of that still chokes me up to this day.

I’m not going to get into a debate as to whether or not I believe this ad is right or wrong, because while I do believe in it’s message (Black community, let’s stop aborting our legacies), I reject it’s lack of sensitivity. 

Instead I figured I’d share some statistics I’ve found regarding abortion, to give people a better idea of the actual numbers we’re working with.

*Disclaimer: Because reporting of abortions is not mandatory, statistics aren’t 100% reliable (but then again, statistics never really are).

As of 2008/early 2009…

  • White women have more abortions than any other race.  41% of women having abortions are white, 32% are black, and 20% are hispanic
  • Black women are 4x as likely, and Hispanic women are nearly 3x as likely, to have an abortion than White women.  Black women’s abortion rates are 50 per 1,000, Hispanic women’s are 28 per 1,000 and non-Hispanic white women’s are 11 per 1,000.
  • Almost half of us (women) in our lifetimes will have one…don’t judge a woman now, because you might be making that same decision later.  An estimated 43% of all women will have at least 1 abortion by the time they are 45 years old. 47% of all abortions are performed on women who have had at least one previous abortion.
  • Impoverished women are NOT the main ones aborting-it’s the middle-class. Women with family incomes less than $15,000 obtain 28.7% of all abortions; Women with family incomes between $15,000 and $29,999 obtain 19.5%; Women with family incomes between $30,000 and $59,999 obtain 38.0%; Women with family incomes over $60,000 obtain 13.8%
  • Most abortions are a calculated choice made out of concenience.  1% of all abortions occur because of rape or incest; 6% of abortions occur because of potential health problems regarding either the mother or child, and 93% of all abortions occur for social reasons (i.e. the child is unwanted or inconvenient).  Those reasons include: Wants to postpone childbearing:  25.5% ; Wants no (more) children:  7.9% ; Cannot afford a baby:  21.3% ; Having a child will disrupt education or job: 10.8% ; Has relationship problem or partner does not want pregnancy: 14.1% ; Too young/parent(s) or other(s) object to pregnancy: 12.2% ; Other: 2.1%
4 thoughts on “The Truth Hurts

  1. The poster bothers me a lot party because its especially personal to myt life. It also bothered me because it is quite insensitive to those who have had abortions and to African Americans. Regardless of the reasons an abortion is necessary, its her decision, and she shouldn’t be judged for it. If someone doesn’t believe in abortions then they shouldn’t have an abortion.

  2. So my thing is where is the passion from all the anti-abortion activists for the babies that are actually born? The one’s that are put up for adoption, or have to grow up in a bad neighborhood under undesirable conditions, etc, etc… The fact that the people that put up the sign is trying to target the african-american demographic during black history month at that is beyond me.

    • I don’t really understand your question Larry regarding “where’s the passion” for the children that are born. It doesn’t automatically spell disaster for the ones that are born. Many who are adopted go into great families. Not all babies that are given life have to life in poverty.

      I believe the purpose for anti-abortion ads is saying the babies have a right to life. It’s not a mother’s decision who feels inconvenienced to take away the life of a baby. Give everyone the chance/opportunity of life.

      I would have to agree. One could say that’s such an easy thing for me to say because I’ve never been in that situation, etc., and they would be right. And to be honest with myself, let’s say I got pregnant now, I would be 25yrs old by the time I had the child-that’s a much easier pill to swallow as opposed to maybe the 16yr old, no job, still in school, little support from the man who impregnated her…and it also helps that I would have the support of my family-they wouldn’t sit back and watch me struggle alone. I’d even venture so far to say that I’d have a potential father’s support as well.

      With all that being said though, I’m not a supporter of abortion. I believe there are too many other options, namely adoption. I also find it important to note that I do my best not to judge the women that have/do get abortions.

      The main thing I’m challenged with at this point regarding abortion is the woman who uses it as a form of birth control. We’ve heard of the woman who’s had 3, 4, 5, etc and says she feels no guilt for that. I don’t understand it-dare I say I do view her as a serial killer? Kind of dramatic, but it is how I feel. There are so many ways to prevent pregnancy-heck, Planned Parenthood offers the pill for $10 a month. You can’t find anyone to sponsor you for $10 a month to prevent a $400+ proceedure (abortion)!? Besides, the pill/ring/ implant (all forms of female birth control) are all proven to be more affective in preventing pregnancy than that condom. So yeah, I don’t understand that.

Leave a Reply

