I’m Sick of the Village Failing the Children!

Too many of our planted seeds are dying...

            We’ve been told from a young age to trust the close family and friends we are surrounded by.  Over the years it is these networks and connections that form the bonds that we rely heavily on when life’s challenges knock us to our knees.  After all, it surely takes a village to raise a child.  We put an amazing amount of trust and responsibility in these people-surely they would want only the best for us, right? 

Wrong.

            Too often we see our villages failing.  Miserably.  The young girl who feels disconnected from her parents seeks attention, in whatever way she can, from her peers.  By the time she’s 18 she’s a single parent and is utilizing desperate resources to make ends meet.  We also see the young boy whose only male influences are his older cousins, brothers and uncles in the streets.  Despite a promising academic future that is apparent to all who encounter him, the men in his community see nothing wrong with guiding him into the tumultuous underworld of drugs, jail and death. 

Where are our youth supposed to turn when their sole backbones and support systems have ZERO interest in showing them a positive path that will lead to long-term success?

            I’ve been trying to figure this out for a few days now.  It got to me so bad that just yesterday I found myself in tears over this.  How do you tell the young girl that she doesn’t need the attention from the men who are using her when it’s the only seemingly genuine interest she’s ever received?  And how can you tell that young man that there’s a brighter, better way than the streets when the only college-educated men he sees are broke and lame?

            Up to this point, I’ve only been able to come up with mentoring.  As of now, I’m not sure how much of an impact it can have if it’s not long-term.  How long must one serve as a mentor to affect change?  And if these children aren’t able to be removed from their detrimental villages, is it all done in vain? 

I’m lost on this one.  I’m definitely trying to find the answer though.  Time is running out for those that are closest to me though and I needed to find a solution yesterday.  I’m praying on it, praying SO hard, but a resolution has been elusive…God’s timing is surely not my own.

3 thoughts on “I’m Sick of the Village Failing the Children!

  1. I see how passionate u are about this. Its people like u thank change the world. Where we come from there aren’t to many people to look up to. But I did it And so did u. Its our job to go back and help the youth make something of themselves. We can’t just turn our back from where we are from. Alot of people make it and all of the sudden they have there nose held high and forger there roots. I wish I could go back to my city more often and help my school and community but my job kinda keeps me from that. I have been around the world and seen what true poverty is. I wish I could take our kids to where I have been.

  2. I’ve mentoring for a few years now and I’m not always sure if I’m actually making a difference or not but I’m a firm believer in simply knowing you have someone in your corner makes a world of difference. I think showing kids that there are legitimate ways to make a good living can help. I think we have to change what a “good living” means in order for kids to really see that there is so much more to life than nice cars and sneakers. As far as teaching girls that they don’t have objectify themselves to feel love. There is a difference between receiving love and receiving attention from someone. It starts with love who you are.

    I’m being long-winded but I feel passionately about giving back, mentoring, and making a better way for our youth. Its a responsibility that we can’t afford to fail at.

  3. I could feel the passion in this one when I read it.

    Mentoring is something that I plan to get involved in and take seriously, right now my schedule doesn’t permit for it. I know going in that I won’t be able to save or help everyone and that some of my efforts will be in vein. My attitude will be every kid, teenager whatever that I make some sort of positive difference with will make it worth while.

    It’s like the movies you see where the white teacher goes into the hood then gets bullied by the kids, goes home and cries, then receives some encouragement, keeps trying then see’s a glimmer of hope in one student and thats enough to keep them going every school year.

    Our villages need alot of work, alot of work!!!!

Leave a Reply

