The Bun Is Back!

Lately, I’ve been trying to find some new styles to rock with my hair…it seems like every couple of weeks I’m having to revamp my style directory because my hair has been growing so fast.  What might’ve worked fabulously this past fall/winter can’t work this spring because, simply put, I have too much hair for it.

I used to be able to wear a frohawk several days in a row, without much wear/tear on my curls.  I recently discovered (Tuesday) that the style is good for one-day ONLY now.  Bummer!

By Wednesday morning, my curls were a big, frizzy mess (I resembled the Roadrunner)...when it was shorter, the curls stayed together more.

Because I had just washed my hair on Sunday, washing it again Wednesday to get my curls back wasn’t realistic (too drying on the hair with it still being chilly outside).  I opted for a co-wash and since I had an interview later that day, simply letting my hair down and wearing it out wasn’t a good look for me.  After bringing out the hard brush and manipulating my strands a bit I found my way back to my old faithful…

Super sleek and smooth

My bun is back!  I didn’t even realize what I was doing until it was done!  It’s been YEARS since I’ve been able to rock a bun with no sock in it but apparently I now have so much volume that a sock is no longer necessary.  I had a very professional look without compromising my hair’s integrity.  A little 100% shea butter goes a LONG way 🙂

For today, I took my bun a little higher.  I hated how the bun in the back of my head made my forhead look so big.  I’ve now adopted the little ballerina bun and I’m so lovin it!

To avoid looking like a 12-yr old I threw on some large hoop earrings and some berry-colored lipstick...

Despite my efforts I still look like I'm 12...lol

Overall, I’m in LOVE with this look!  It will be incredibly convenient with this summer’s heat.  My hair is heavy and in the summer it gets incredibly hot which is quite wearing on the body after awhile.  This bun will help keep me cool and comfortable and give me something to do with my curls when they decide they wanna act a fool!

8 thoughts on “The Bun Is Back!

  1. The bun looks adorable you..I’ve been experimenting with ponytails but have failed severely, my head is tooo big for that style! LOL…I absolutely love the dark hair…did the henna make it darker?

    • Thanks so much Alexis! The henna gives my hair an underlying red tone (imagine writing on a piece of black constructin paper with a red crayon) that everyone except for myself can see :p If you’re at step show next week, I’ll be sure to wear my hair out so you can see it 🙂

  2. it does look good, but you are a fool for:

    1. Taking pictures of yourself or having someone take pictures – while you are at work and driving.

    2. For still looking like a 12 year old

    3. Still allowing my cruel comments about “our” forehead scar you forever – it was my bout with insecurity…

    4. Trying to pretend to type while getting your picture taken at work.

    5. That ridiculous photo of you “upset” in your car!

    I’m laughing my butt off. Love you.

    • lol! well…

      1) shoutout to my haters! *cough SHELBY LYNNE! cough*

      2) can i help it if i’m able to create custom photo shoots at the job?!

      3) somebody else thought i was shelby cuz i look so much like your mom bwahahahaha

      lol xoxo

  3. I feel the same way sands! I always feel like I look like a high schooler when my hair is in a bun or ponytail…I guess we should be thankful that we have a young face. We’ll appreciate it when we are 35.

Leave a Reply

