Success!

            Yesterday while browsing the web I came across a new website, www.mahoganycurls.com, and it is there that Jess, the blogger, outlined how she does her roller sets.  Her results were absolutely stunning, and I decided that it was time for me to attempt my second roller set.  The first time I tried a roller set, I managed to get two rollers in the back of my head before I got overwhelmed.  Next thing I knew I was snatching those two measly rollers out of my head, washed all of the setting lotion out and then straightened my hair for the first time in two months.  I was determined not to let that happen again.

            Going in I focused on the concept of patience and that is truly what got me through.  After painstakingly rolling (and re-rolling some sections) my hair into the rollers I sat underneath the dryer for approximately two hours.  After removing all of the rollers I was left with an insane amount of body and curls.  It was overwhelming!  I managed to wrap my hair up using my tangle teaser and then used some gel around my hairline to smooth it all down.  After tying my hair up with a satin scarf I woke up this morning and took it down.  I absolutely LOVE the results!

The rollers are obviously uneven but you don't understand how tough it was to get them in there smh

When one side wasn't laying down the right way I pinned it back. Voila!

           At this point I’m eager to see how long this style can be maintained.  If I can get 4 or 5 day hair out of it, this could easily replace my curly afro thing I’ve been maintaining in the cold winter months.  Because I utilize a hooded dryer, heat damage is minimal at most.  Another thing that is important to note is that I used no flat iron or curling iron to touch up any part of my hair.  As I mentioned earlier in this post, I used gel around my hairline, then brushed it flat in order to get it as straight as the rest of my hair.

7 thoughts on “Success!

Leave a Reply

