Do You Keep Your Most IMPORTANT Appointment?

I begin most of my days by reading my devotional.  It’s a time for me to get my mind and heart ready for all that I will encounter that day and remind me to always keep my Christianity in check.

Today’s devotional, an exerpt from Joyce Meyer’s Hearing From God Each Morning: 365 Daily Devotions, is one that I have decided to share with you all.

Keep Your Appointment

“You will seek Me, inquire for, and require Me [as a vital necessity] and find Me when you search for Me with all your heart.  Jeremiah 29:13

We may have to deal sternly with our flesh to resist the spirit of passivity that tries to keep us from growing in the knowledge of God.  A commitment to spend time with God is as serious a commitment as any we will ever make.

If I needed dialysis because of kidney disease and had to be at the hospital twice a week for treatment at 8:00AM, I certainly would not accept an invitation to do anything else during those times, no matter how appealing it seemed or how much I wanted to do it.  I would know my life depended on keeping my dialysis appointment.  We should be that serious about our time with God.  The quality of our lives is greatly affected by the time we spend with Him, so that time should have priority in our schedules. 

Sometimes we become slack in keeping our appointments with God because we know He is always available.  We know He will always be there for us, so we may skip or reschedule our time with Him so we can do something that seems more urgent.  If we spent more “priority time” with God, we might not have so many “urgent” situations that tend to rob us of our time.

When we spend time with God, even if we don’t feel His presence or think we are learning anything, we are still sowing good seeds that will produce good harvests in our lives.  With persistence, you will reach the point where you understand more of God’s Word, where you are enjoying fellowship with Him, and where you are talking to God and hearing His voice.

GOD’S WORD FOR YOU TODAY: Keep your appointments with God.

2 thoughts on “Do You Keep Your Most IMPORTANT Appointment?

  1. I have been visiting your blog for a few months (I love your openness and willingness to share so much with your readers, awesome blog!) and I had to comment today. This post was truly awesome to read. I often read my Bible and devotional in the morning as well, but on those days when I’m really busy I put it off and say “I’ll read it later” and time slips away from me.

    God wants us to make time for Him and not just fit him in when we have a free moment. I really needed this today. Thank you for posting!

    • Thank you so much for commenting today Martina! I really appreciate your support.

      The part that got me was the “If we spent more “priority time” with God, we might not have so many “urgent” situations that tend to rob us of our time.” It put me in check REAL QUICK so I figured I better share it with everyone 🙂

Leave a Reply

