An Eye For An Eye Leaves the Entire World Blind

            Last night I was watching 60 Minutes and our amazing leader, President Barack Obama, was taking center stage. The entire show was dedicated to an interview between him and Steve Kroft that covered his successful execution of the death of Osama Bin Laden. The President spoke in great length and detail about the mission and its overall effect on terrorism domestically and abroad. While the entire interview was quite poignant and thought-provoking, the part that struck the deepest chord in me however was President Obama’s response to one of Kroft’s most probing questions.

Kroft: Is this the first time that you’ve ever ordered someone killed?

President Obama: Well, keep in mind that every time I make a decision about launching a missile, every time I make a decision about sending troops into battle, I understand that this will result in people being killed. And that is a sobering fact. But it is one that comes with the job.

Man.

            That is a HEAVY burden to bear on one’s conscience, is it not? Our President is one who upholds the ideals of the American dream. He has a beautiful family, is health-conscious (he quit smoking!), God-fearing and while he may not be liked by all, he is respected (for the most part). To think that when Judgment Day is upon us, Barack Obama will be personally accountable for the lives that are lost when those missiles are dropped and civilians are killed, all in the name of safety for Americans, is unfortunate to say the least for someone who stands so strong. We see all the good things that he does but at the end of the day, he is also an accessory to multiple murders (you don’t understand how much it pains me to say that about our President). Joel Osteen preaches on how forgiving our God is; we will see how the President is treated when the final hour is upon us.  At the end of the day God is the only one that truly knows his heart.

            To add further insult to injury, I feel so conflicted regarding Bin Laden’s death because while it is apparent that Bin Laden didn’t have the respect for human life that he should have had, it is no secret that an “eye for an eye” will make the entire world blind. Perhaps Bin Laden could have been sent to prison for the rest of his natural life?  I don’t know what the “right” decision should have been. Heck, what would the “wrong” decision have been? I hate to sound so unpatriotic right now, as if I don’t support our country’s efforts to amend the 9/11 tragedy, but isn’t the American way a believer in second chances and true forgiveness?

4 thoughts on “An Eye For An Eye Leaves the Entire World Blind

  1. Interesting. While I think “accessory to multiple murders” is a bit of a stretch, I get your point. As I was reading, I thought to myself that your article touches on a deeper issue I think: How we fit death (murder) into our spiritual concepts. I view death through the same lens I view everything else when it comes to spirituality. Nothing more than a physical manifestation of a spiritual concept. Now, does that mean I’m above sadness at the news of someone dying or being killed? No, but that’s to be expected because I’m carnal as well. From a spiritual perspective, everything physical has to go (you, me, and Bin Laden). We have a hard time dealing with the concept of murder and relegate it to what I like to call the “devil bin.” I think it touches on a bigger issue: Whether we believe everything is happening within a divine purpose (including death, murder, rape, etc.). It’s easy to say, “the devil made him/her do it” than it is to think that EVERYTHING is happening within a divine purpose or plan. The latter concept makes us uncomfortable. Just a rant, but your article got me thinking.

  2. “Yes they deserved to die and I hope they burn in hell!!”
    – Samuel L. Jackson, ‘A Time to Kill’

    Lol…kidding, of course. That movie quote popped right in my head when being asked if someone deserves to die. Jackson’s character was exonerated of all charges in the movie, by the way. #justsaying.

    As far as right or wrong decision, that’s pretty much going to vary for each person based on particular morals/beliefs and values, etc.. I believe this country as a whole would probably be more up in arms if he was captured alive and thrown in prison. I mean look at all the pundits demanding to see pictures of his corpse to be sure he is dead. I have a feeling they’re not demanding that in hopes he still lives like Tupac. The death penalty is a legal punishment in this country, too. If it was generally unpopular then I suspect there would be no death penalty.

    Then there’s the “revenge” factor. David Ariely, author of ‘The Upside of Irrationality’ has a pretty pragmatic take on how revenge affects us as a whole. Here’s a link to a snippet of what he eludes to in his book. He talks about trust and revenge: http://bigthink.com/ideas/20755

Leave a Reply

