I Had A Bad Day

Today was one of my first “bad” days here in NYC.  Well, to be completely honest, only the first half was “bad,” but I allowed that first have to overshadow my entire day.  So what had happened was…

This was part of my section...it was SLAMMED today.

In the restaurant I work at, lunch is a VERY big deal.  Tons of people come to our place to enjoy a quick bite to eat with their co-workers, bosses and prospective clients.  Today it so happened that the restaurant was SLAMMED.  EVERY SINGLE TABLE in the entire spot, inside and out, was occupied within a 30-minute period.  As a result the kitchen was hit with a high volume of orders within a short-period of time.  Unfortunately for the guests, as well as us servers, the food took a LONG time to reach the tables.  I had people at my tables complaining relentlessly, getting attitudes with me, tipping me poorly and one even walked out after waiting for over 40-minutes.

I felt like I was working SO hard to hold down all 15 of my tables.  I worked SO hard and saw SO little on my return.  By the time 2PM rolled around I felt incredibly defeated.

It sucked.

What sucked even more however is that I was around nothing familiar to help me deal with my feelings.  I wouldn’t be able to go home and ask Mom to fix me some food so that I could eat my feelings while she patiently waited for me to confide in her.  Dad wasn’t a few paces away in his office where I could vent to him about how the latest client may have gotten on my nerves and hear him offer his random anecdotes and stories of relation.  Jon Jon, Jordan or Ty would be nowhere to be found so that I could poke fun and kid around with them to occupy my time (yes, I’m the big sister and I act like it).  Heck, even Shelby isn’t a quick 20-min drive away in Brooklyn right now…her and Mike are gone on a roadtrip.  Lastly, my best friends and my more significant other friend are no longer a short drive away for me to cry on their shoulders and then zone out to a random television show until we all fall asleep.

 

Wen cleansing conditioner in Fig

I’m kind of alone now so I had to find a new way to cope.  I had a heartfelt conversation with God to let Him know how I felt.  He agreed that I was justified in feeling the way I did but reminded me to look on the bright side-I would have all evening to myself to regain my composure so take advantage of it.  After coming to that realization I found myself in Sephora were I discovered my new signature scent, Stella.  I then burried myself in my eReader, washed my hair, took a long nap and splurged on some AMAZING fettucini alfredo with chicken and broccoli (I have literally NEVER in my life tasted anything like it before).  Lastly, I made my first QVC purchase ever-the Wen cleansing conditioner in Fig (shoutout to Adkins and CCBebee!).

Despite how bad this day began, now that I have arrived at the end and am looking back, I realize it wasn’t the WORST…the separation from all that is closest, nearest and dearest to my heart is what drove that knife in just a tad deeper.  I wonder if I’m especially feeling the brunt of this bad day because the Fourth of July is only a few days away and this is the first major holiday that I will not be spending with my family (well, except for Kenny…he will be here)?  Who knows.

Sigh.

*I know this post is a bit emo today…I’m slightly caught up in my feelings right now.  Don’t judge me.*

4 thoughts on “I Had A Bad Day

  1. You have every right to feel what you’re feeling. Today was a bit stress for me at work too. I should be asleep but I’m veggin’ on Facebook and now your post. Tomorrow’s new with a different outcome. 🙂

  2. Ashley,

    Its wonderful that you are in NY – now you are just 1 1/2hours away so I hope you get the chance to come and visit us in Philly this summer. Would LOVE to see you and we are trying to take a trip up to NY too to see everyone!!

    ok gotta LOVE QVC – lol and while you are at it – heck… check out HSN

    Hey! Dont think of this weekend as a seperation from family … think of it as the first holiday you accomplished exactly what you wanted to do. BE in New York – not just driving up to visit and hang out….but you are living there….Big City Gurl!!! now THAT is an accomplishment to be proud of…I’m SO proud of you!!

    Remember nothing stays the same but change and tomorrow is a new day so get out and enjoy it…..

    So I leave you with a few words of inspiration to let you know family is ALWAYS there and you are always in my thoughts and prayer……

    When you come to the edge of all the light you know,
    and are about to step off into the darkness of the unknown,
    faith is knowing one of two things will happen:
    There will be something solid to stand on,
    or you will be taught how to fly

    What the caterpillar calls the end of the world, the master calls a butterfly
    (Ashely -I just KNOW your NY journey this sumer will make you a very beautiful butterfly)

    A journey of a thousand miles begins with a single step
    (Ashley-you have made one the biggest steps in your life (been there)
    leaving the “nest” and your comfort zone – let this journey not change who you are but change how you see and do life…)

    Love ya
    Aunt Renee

Leave a Reply

