Yancey’s Kitchen: Chili!

Last week I overheard a friend talking about heating up some leftover chili and I got the most intense craving for it.  Unfortunately this was a problem because I’ve never made chili by myself.  In the past my mother is always right over my shoulder, guiding my hand and offering helpful tidbits.  Because I just had to have it, I decided to be brave and attempt my solo hand at it.  After calling Mom, she gave me a brief grocery list of essentials to make a delicious pot of chili.  My efforts paid off!  I am shocked at how simple it is to create an amazing bowl of quality chili.  Below is the lose recipe Mom gave me.  I won’t be selfish…go make yourself a pot for this wet, rainy and chilly weekend 🙂

 

1 lb of hamburger/sausage (I used 1.5 lbs because I like my chili extra thick, meaty and hearty)

1 15-oz large can of tomato sauce (NOT marinara or spaghetti sauce)

2 cans of diced tomates (I purchased the “zesty” kind…you can also buy some tomatoes, chop them up and toss them in)

2 cans of kidney beans (you can use whatever type of beans you want)

1/2 cup of chopped onions (throw in some chopped peppers too if you like it spicy)

Assortment of spices from your cabinet (toss in a bit of whatever smells great…in addition to basic spices like basil, oregano, red pepper flakes, etc. I threw in basil leaves on a whim and it tasted fab and helped the chili itself look better.  This is the part where your inner cook should come out, show up and show out!  Have fun spicing your chili up to just the right amount of heat you prefer.)

Brown the meat in your large chili pot, then toss everything else in.  Allow to simmer for at least 2-3 hours, stirring occasionally.  Serve.

 

When it came to leftovers my favorite dish was serving the chili over fettucini noodles.  I’d top it off with lots of cheddar cheese that would melt from the hot temperature of the chili.  It was AMAZING!

Leave a Reply

