“If I Had a Son, He’d Look Like Trayvon.”

And so says President Obama.

Even if you’ve been living under a rock (as I have been), there is no way you’ve yet to hear about the murder of Trayvon Martin, the 17-year old Black teen who was killed by a White Hispanic.  Why?  For looking “suspicious” in a gated community.

Every couple of days I do a Google search to read of any updates on the tragedy.  This afternoon I came across a CNN article that alerted me to the fact that even the President of our country has stepped up to the plate to speak on it.

Obama spoke out publicly Friday for the first time on the matter. “When I think about this boy, I think about my own kids,” Obama told reporters in response to a question. “And I think every parent in America should be able to understand why it is absolutely imperative that we investigate every aspect of this and that everybody pulls together — federal, state and local — to figure out exactly how this tragedy happened.”  Obama praised Florida Gov. Rick Scott’s decision to create a task force to review the “stand your ground” law and said that it would be important to “examine the laws and the context for what happened as well as the specifics of the incident.  But my main message is to the parents of Trayvon,” Obama said.  “I think they are right to expect that all of us as Americans are going to take this with the seriousness it deserves and we will get to the bottom of exactly what happened,” he said.  And he obliquely addressed the racial component of the case, saying it struck home for him because, “If I had a son, he’d look like Trayvon.”

In times like this, we can feel so helpless.  We’re in other parts of the world, dealing with our own struggles and have no idea how we can help influence change despite knowing that this indeed quite a big deal.  Despite how miniscule it may seem, I have found one way.

The good people over at Change.org have created a petition on behalf of Trayvon Martin.  It’s a call to action for Angela Corey, Florida’s 4th District State’s Attorney, to investigate Trayvon’s murder so that George Zimmerman might be prosecuted in some way.  The petition signatures are currently nearing two million signatures.

I know that “If I had a son, he’d look like Trayvon.” My brothers, cousins, and several male friends and associates look like Trayvon.  Here’s to praying that I’m NEVER in the same position as Trayvon’s family members and loved ones, working feverishly to find some semblance of justice in today’s society, for the death of someone I love dearly.

Clearly I am not a laywer nor do I have all the facts of this case.  What I do know is that if being a minority and walking “suspiciously” in a gated community is ultimately a death sentence then majority of us are in trouble…hence why I support this petition and an investigation into Trayvon’s death.

Prayerfully a change is gonna come.

Leave a Reply

