Raz B…

Image

This morning I woke up to the news that Raz B is in the hospital in a coma.  After suffering a head injury from assisting with breaking up a club fight in China, complications arose.

My heart dropped.

As many are aware, I was a die-hard fan of B2K back in the early 2000’s.  As a member of the group, Raz B held much of my attention and garnered my support.  The group’s very public dispute with their management and Omarion, and the subsequent breakup that followed broke my heart.  I’ll never forget that cold December afternoon in 2003, tuning in to BET’s 106&Park and watching as the three remaining members sat defeated on Free and AJ’s couches.  They were failing to hold back tears of pain, disappointment and helplessness as they tried to explain what had led to the group’s rapid downfall.  As for myself, I was devastated.

Many of those same feelings that I had back in 2003 resurfaced this morning.  That teenage girl who still occupies a part of my being is heartbroken.  Raz B can’t be saying goodbye so soon.  He still has so much talent to share, music to give and fans’ support to witness.  Please keep him in your prayers within these next few days.  Pray that he regains consciousness, that he makes a speedy recovery and that he is able to return to his passion, creating and performing music.

Leave a Reply

